Screen Time

Screen Time is a collaboration of the Developmental Media Lab and the Erikson Institute. This one-day symposium is to be held at the Illinois Institute of Technology's downtown campus in Chicago on September 9, 2016. It is open to researchers, practitioners, parents, educators, media makers, and other stakeholders. Further information, including the event schedule, will be posted here as available. 


Registration is free and open to the public. Please register by completing our online registration form available here by September 2, 2016.  


Screen Time will be held at the downtown campus of the Illinois Institute of Technology at 565 W Adams Street in Chicago. This location is easily accessible by public transportation, near Union Station and multiple lines on the CTA, including the brown, orange, blue, purple, pink, and green lines.


Screen Time will run from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on September 9, 2016. 

9:00 am Welcome from organizers
Carly Kocurek and Jennifer Miller
9:05 Opening Remarks
Christine Himes, Dean of Lewis College of Human Sciences
9:15 Keynote Address
Chip Donohue
10:00 BREAK
Brief recess
10:15 Panel: rethinking screen time for an interactive age
Deborah Linebarger (moderator),Lauren Myers, Jackie Kardesh, Emily Rolan
11:15 Break
Brief recess
11:30 Panel: Using children's media research to inform the creation of interactive digital content
Ellen Wartella (moderator), Jennifer Miller, Kelly Bergstrom, Marianne Martens
12:30 Lunch
Provided for all attendees
1:30 Breakout session
Leaders TBA
3:30 Panel: The future of screens
Rick Fernandes (Moderator), Karen Nemeth, Tamara Kaldor, Alexis Lauricella
4:30 Closing remarks
Carly Kocurek and Jennifer Miller


Kelly Bergstorm [link] - York University
Chip Donohue [link] - Erikson Institute
Rick Fernandes [link] - Fred Rogers Center
Tamara Kaldor [link] - Erikson Institute
Jackie Kardesh [link] - Kids & Co
Carly Kocurek [link] - Illinois Institute of Technology
Alexis Lauricella [link] - Northwestern
Deborah Linebarger [link] - Purdue University
Marianne Martens [link] - Kent State University
Jennifer Miller [link] - Illinois Institute of Technology
Lauren Myers [link] - Lafayette College
Karen Nemeth [link] - Language Castle
Emily Rolan [link] - Purdue University
Ellen Wartella [link] - Northwestern 


This event would not be possible without the contributions of sponsors. Thanks to the following for their sponsorship:

College of Science at Illinois Institute of Technology
Department of Humanities at Illinois Institute of Technology
Department of Psychology at Illinois Institute of Technology
Lewis College of Human Sciences at Illinois Institute of Technology
The Nayar Prize at Illinois Institute of Technology
Office of Student Access, Success, and Diversity Initiatives (IIT)
TEC Center at Erikson Institute